What is an Aggravated DUI in Arizona?

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Arizona has some of the most stringent DUI laws in the U.S. In any court case, mitigating factors are considered to reduce charges or sentencing, while aggravating factors are used to justify harsher charges and penalties. An aggravated DUI is a felony, whereas most DUI infractions are classified as Class 1 misdemeanors. Aggravating factors include:

  • An Extreme DUI charge combined with any of the below factors. An Extreme DUI carries severe class 1 misdemeanor penalties, and is defined as operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or higher (almost twice the legal limit of 0.08).
  • Driving under the influence while your license was revoked or suspended.
  • Causing an incident in which someone was seriously injured or killed.
  • Driving under the influence with passengers under the age of 15.
  • A third DUI offense, or an offense committed while a court orders your vehicle to be equipped with an Ignition Interlock Device.

Fines & “Donations”

A minimum fine of $750 is incurred on top of a $1500 “donation” to public safety programs. Additionally, those convicted of Aggravated DUI serve a minimum sentence of 8 months in jail without probation, plus a one-year license suspension and mandatory substance abuse programming. To understand your charges, assure your right to due process and perhaps reduce or drop the charges against you, consult with an experienced defense attorney.

 

Leave a Replay

Recent Posts

Follow Us